State of Rhode Island Judiciary

Frequently Asked Questions

Calculator for Fees, Fines, Court Costs, Assessments, and Charges on Offenses

Ouestion: Are all Traffic Tribunal violations searchable on the Calculator?

Answer: No. The following statutes are <u>NOT</u> included in this Calculator:

- 1. Speeding violations due to the range of speeds that would need to be programmed;
- 2. Employing Unlicensed/Unauthorized Operator School Bus, G.L. 1956 § 31-21.1 because the fine is assessed for each day that you are in violation;
- 3. Special Speed Limits in Highway Construction and Maintenance Operations, G.L. 1956 § 31-14-12.1 because any violations are doubled:
- 4. Use of School Bus With Suspended Registration, G.L. 1956 § 31-22-11.5 because the fine is assessed for each day that you are in violation; and
- 5. Vehicle size, weight, and load limit violations because the fine is based upon the width, height, length, or weight over the authorized limit (G.L. 1956 § 31-25-3, G.L. 1956 § 31-25-4, G.L. 1956 § 31-25-6, G.L. 1956 § 31-25-7, G.L. 1956 § 31-25-13, G.L. 1956 § 31-25-14(d)(1), G.L. 1956 § 31-25-14(d)(3), G.L. 1956 § 31-25-16(c)(4), G.L. 1956 § 31-25-16(c)(5), G.L. 1956 § 1-25-22, and G.L. 1956 § 31-25-27).

Question: Are all potential fees, fines, court costs, assessments, and charges included in the Calculator?

Answer: No. Other amounts that may be assessed against a defendant, depending upon the disposition of the case, but are <u>NOT</u> included in this Calculator are as follow:

- 1. Court costs of \$35.00 if you plead guilty to or are found guilty of a traffic offense or violation at your hearing;
- 2. Good driving record administrative fee of \$35.00 if you have no other traffic violations in the last three (3) years and your ticket is dismissed;
- 3. Rhode Island highway maintenance surcharge of \$25.00 if you are granted a dismissal under the good driving record;
- 4. Execution fee of \$10.00 issued by the Traffic Tribunal to enforce a judgment against you; and
- 5. The increased fine of \$300 if the defendant fails to complete an approved, drug-awareness program and community service within one (1) year of the disposition for possession of two (2) ounces or less of marijuana by a person who is seventeen (17) years of age or older and under the age of eighteen (18) years pursuant to G.L. 1956 § 21-28-4.01(c)(2)(v).

Question: What if I have more than one charge on my summons?

Answer:

There is a separate fine for every charged violation. An emergency medical services fee of one dollar (\$1.00) will be assessed on <u>each</u> motor vehicle violation under Title 31, Motor and Other Vehicles. You will only be assessed a technology surcharge of \$3.25 once per summons.